Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band’s ‘Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts’ film and album due in November

Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band’s ‘Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts’ film and album due in November
Sony Music Entertainment/Sony Pictures Home Entertainment

In July, the popular Bruce Springsteen fan site reported that an archival film focusing on the performances that The Boss and his E Street Band gave at the historic 1979 “No Nukes” concerts would be coming out later this year.  Now official details about the release have been announced.

The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts will be released digitally on November 16 and on DVD, Blu-ray and audio formats on November 19.

The film and companion audio feature Springsteen and the E Street Band playing 13 songs at two of the MUSE benefit concerts, aka the “No Nukes” concerts, a star-studded series of shows that took place in September 1979 at Madison Square Garden in New York City. Ten of the performances are previously unreleased.

The movie was edited by longtime Springsteen collaborator Thom Zimny using the original 16-millimeter film, and the audio was remixed by lauded engineer Bob Clearmountain.

Springsteen’s set list included renditions of two songs from his then-upcoming album The River — the title track and “Sherry Darling” — as well as covers of Buddy Holly‘s “Rave On” and Maurice Williams‘ “Stay,” the latter of which featured guest appearances from Jackson Browne and Tom Petty.

“A few years ago, I started re-examining the filmed archives for Bruce and the Band’s appearances at the No Nukes concerts of 1979,” says Zimny in a statement. “I quickly realized that these were the best performances and best filming from the Band’s legendary Seventies, and dedicated myself to bringing out the full potential of the footage.”

The Legendary 1979 No Nukes Concerts, which you can pre-order now, is available as a two-CD/DVD or two-CD/Blu-Ray set, a two-LP vinyl package, and on digital audio and video formats.

Here’s the full track list:

“Prove It All Night”
“The Promised Land”
“The River”
“Sherry Darling”
“Thunder Road”
“Rosalita Come Out Tonight”
“Born to Run”
“Detroit Medley”
“Quarter to Three”
“Rave On”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.