Graham Nash live album featuring full performances of his first two solo studio efforts arrives this Friday

Proper Music

Graham Nash‘s long-awaited live album showcasing a series of special concerts he played in September 2019 during which he performed his first two solo album — 1971’s Songs for Beginners and 1974’s Wild Tales — in their entirety, finally will be released this Friday, May 6.

Graham Nash: Live — Songs for Beginners/Wild Tales features renditions of every tune from Nash’s two studio efforts, including the 1971 hit “Chicago/We Can Change the World,” and gems like “Military Madness,” “Simple Man,” “Prison Song” and “Oh! Camil.”

The full-albums concerts, which took place at four venues in the northeastern U.S., featured Nash performing with his two regular backing musicians — guitarist Shane Fontayne and keyboardist Todd Caldwell — plus a drummer, a bassist, a pedal-steel guitarist and two female backup singers.

In advance of the album, Graham released his live version of “Military Madness” digitally.

Reflecting on why the Songs for Beginners and Wild Tales albums were so popular with fans, Nash says, “I think it’s that intimacy and that immediacy of my emotions.”

He also laments that some of the topical songs he wrote during the ’70s remain relevant today.

“We’re supposed to learn from history and it doesn’t appear as if we’re learning much,” he maintains. “Songs like ‘Military Madness’…is that not relevant today? The hope that we can change the world, isn’t that still relevant today? I’m very flattered that my music seems to have lasted this long, but I’m also a little upset that we have to keep singing a song like ‘Military Madness’ right up to the present. Enough already!”

Graham Nash: Live, which can be pre-ordered now, is available on CD, as a two-LP set and via digital formats.

Here’s the live album’s full track list:

“Military Madness”
“Better Days”
“Wounded Bird”
“I Used to Be a King”
“Be Yourself”
“Simple Man”
“Man in the Mirror”
“There’s Only One”
“Sleep Song”
“Chicago”/”We Can Change the World”
“Wild Tales”
“Hey You (Looking at the Moon)”
“Prison Song”
“You’ll Never Be the Same”
“And So It Goes”
“Grave Concern”
“Oh! Camil”
“I Miss You”
“On the Line”
“Another Sleep Song”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.