Jon Anderson, Michael McDonald, Warren Haynes featured on duets album by ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro

Mascot Label Group/Music Theories Recordings/JS Records

Musicians and singers including ex-Yes frontman Jon Anderson, Michael McDonald of The Doobie Brothers  and former Allman Brothers Band guitarist Warren Haynes, are featured on Jake & Friends, new collaborative album by Hawaiian ukulele virtuoso Jake Shimabukuro that’s due out on November 12.

Other artists who contributed to the 16-track collection include Moon Taxi, Jack Johnson, Kenny Loggins, Jimmy Buffett, Jesse Colin Young, Ziggy Marley, Willie Nelson, Bette Midler and Vince Gill.

“I have to pinch myself when I see those names on my own album,” Jake says of the duets project. “It’s like, ‘Did that really happen?’ Making the album was a real challenge, but I’m deeply honored that all of the artists agreed to record with me.”

Anderson appears on a version of The Beatles‘ “A Day in the Life,” McDonald contributes to a rendition of the early Moody Blues hit “Go Now,” and Haynes lends his talents to “On the Road to Freedom,” a song by late Ten Years After frontman Alvin Lee.

Young, meanwhile, is featured on a new version of the folk-rock classic “Get Together,” popularized by his old band The Youngbloods.

Jake & Friends also includes two other Beatles covers — “All You Need Is Love” sung by Marley, and “Something,” a duet featuring Gill and his wife, Amy Grant.

Two songs have been released as advance singles from the album: a new version of Moon Taxi’s 2017 hit “Two High,” and an updated rendition of one of Willie Nelson’s signature tunes, the 1920s standard “Stardust,” featuring the country legend.

Jake & Friends can be pre-ordered now. Here’s the album’s full track list:

“A Place in the Sun” — featuring Jack Johnson and Paula Fuga
“Sonny Days Ahead” — featuring Sonny Landreth
“All You Need Is Love” — featuring Ziggy Marley
“Why Not” — featuring Kenny Loggins
“Smokin’ Strings” — featuring Billy Strings
“Find Yourself” — featuring Lukas Nelson
“On the Road to Freedom” — featuring Warren Haynes
“Come Monday” — featuring Jimmy Buffett
“Something” — featuring Vince Gill and Amy Grant
“Two High” — featuring Moon Taxi
“A Day in the Life” — featuring Jon Anderson
“Go Now” — featuring Michael McDonald
“Wrapping Paper” — featuring Ray Benson & Asleep at the Wheel
“Stardust” — featuring Willie Nelson
“The Rose” — featuring Bette Midler
“Get Together” — featuring Jesse Colin Young

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.