Your SEO optimized title page contents

Chrissie Hynde, Jackson Browne, Iggy Pop among artists contributing to upcoming Mose Allison tribute album

Written by on October 29, 2019

Call Now: 585-432-6029

Fat Possum RecordsThe Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello and Iggy Pop are among the well-known artists featured on a new album paying homage to late jazz/blues singer, songwriter and pianist Mose Allison that will be released on November 29.

If You’re Going to the City: A Tribute to Mose Allison is a 15-track collection that was organized by Mose’s daughter, singer/songwriter Amy Allison, along with musician/producer Don Heffington.

Other musicians contributing to the album include Bonnie Raitt, Ben Harper with Charlie Musselwhite, The PixiesFrank Black and The BlastersDave Alvin and Phil Alvin. Costello and Amy Allison team up for duet rendition of the song “Monsters of the Id” that closes out the record.

Proceeds raised from the record will benefit the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund, which provides financial aid for music artists dealing with illness, disabilities or age-related issues.

Explaining how the project came together, Amy says, “We were talking about my dad’s legacy and thinking about all the musicians who were fans, and how a tribute album featuring some of these artists would be cool, especially if it were to benefit a worthy cause. Don said ‘Let’s put it together ourselves.'”

If You’re Going to the City will be available on CD and as a vinyl LP, and will come packaged with a DVD featuring the 2005 Mose Allison documentary Ever Since I Stole the Blues, which originally was produced for the BBC.

You can check out Browne’s rendition of “If You Live” now at the Fat Possum Records YouTube channel.

Mose died in 2016 at the age of 89. Among the artists who’ve covered his songs over the years are Van Morrison, The Clash and The Who, who played his song “Young Man Blues” live numerous times.

Here’s the tribute album’s full track list:

“Your Mind Is On Vacation” — Taj Mahal
“My Brain” — Robbie Fulks
“If You Live” — Jackson Browne
“Your Molecular Structure” — The Tippo Allstars featuring Fiona Apple
“Nightclub” — Ben Harper and Charlie Musselwhite
“Stop This World” — Chrissie Hynde
“If You’re Going to the City” — Iggy Pop
“Everybody’s Crying Mercy” — Bonnie Raitt
“Ever Since the World Ended” — Loudon Wainwright III
“Parchman Farm” — Richard Thompson
“I Don’t Worry About a Thing” — Peter Case
“Wild Man on the Loose” — Dave Alvin and Phil Alvin
“The Way of the World” — Anything Mose!
“Numbers on Paper” — Frank Black
“Monsters of the Id” — Amy Allison with Elvis Costello

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.


Tagged as


It's not old ... it's classic

Current track