Your SEO optimized title page contents

Motörhead's Mikkey Dee and Phil Campbell now eligible for Rock Hall induction

Written by on October 21, 2019

Call Now: 585-432-6029

Courtesy of Rock & Roll Hall of FameLongtime Motörhead members Mikkey Dee and Phil Campbell have retroactively been made eligible for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

When the Rock Hall originally announced that the “Ace of Spades” rockers had been nominated for induction, only members of the group’s so-called “classic” lineup — frontman Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister, guitarist “Fast” Eddie Clarke and drummer Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor — were listed as being eligible.  However, that specific lineup only existed for six years, between 1976 and 1982.

Following the announcement, Dee, who joined Motörhead in 1992, told Billboard that the Rock Hall leaving him and Campbell, who joined in 1984, off the list of eligible members is “pure wrong.” Since the publication of that article, Motörhead’s biography on the Rock Hall website now includes Dee and Campbell as eligible for induction.

“Thanks to everyone who spoke up loudly,” reads a post on the Motörhead Twitter account. “Thanks to the #ROCKHALL2020 for listening and adding Phil & Mikkey. All for one and one for all!” 

Aside from Lemmy, Dee and Campbell are the longest-tenured Motöhead members, and stayed in the band until the legendary bassist’s death in 2015. Taylor also died in 2015, while Clarke passed in 2018.

The 2020 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in January. The induction ceremony takes place May 2 in Cleveland.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Tagged as


It's not old ... it's classic

Current track