Heart's Ann Wilson to release solo covers album, "Immortal," in September

Written by on May 31, 2018

Credit: Kimberly AdamisHeart frontwoman Ann Wilson has revealed complete details of her forthcoming solo album, Immortal, which features covers of songs by various artists who died in recent years. The 10-track collection will hit stores on September 14, and is Wilson’s debut release with the BMG label.

Over the last few weeks, Ann revealed most of the songs that she’s recorded for the Immortal project via her official website and a YouTube video blog. Joining previously announced tunes by Amy Winehouse, Cream, The Eagles, Audioslave, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, Lesley Gore, Gerry Rafferty and George Michael are David Bowie‘s “I’m Afraid of Americans” and Leonard Cohen‘s “A Thousand Kisses Deep.”

Regarding how she chose the songs on the new album, Wilson explains, “First of all, I had to love them! They had to be songs I could get inside of authentically as a singer. Lyrics are important to me but the most important thing is always the marriage of words and melody that makes the song magic!”

Ex-Allman Brothers Band guitarist Warren Haynes lends his talents to a pair of songs — Petty’s “Luna” and Gore’s “You Don’t Own Me” — while Jeff Beck plays guitar on Ann’s rendition of Cream’s “Politician.” Multi-instrumentalist Ben Mink, who produced Wilson’s 2007 solo effort Hope & Glory, as well as two recent Heart albums, is featured on “A Thousand Kisses Deep” and a version of Winehouse’s “Back to Black.”

Immortal was produced by Mike Flicker, who also worked on Heart’s first five albums.

“It is exciting to work with him for the first time since 1980,” says Wilson of Flicker. “He has fearlessly helped me bring my ideas to life once again and it’s been a great collaboration.”

Here is the full track list of Immortal:

“A Different Corner” (George Michael)
“A Thousand Kisses Deep” (Leonard Cohen)
“Back to Black” (Amy Winehouse)
“Baker Street” (Gerry Rafferty)
“I Am the Highway” (Audioslave, in honor of Chris Cornell)
“I’m Afraid of Americans” (David Bowie)
“Life in the Fast Lane” (The Eagles, in honor of Glenn Frey)
“Luna” (Tom Petty)
“Politician” (Cream, in honor of Jack Bruce)
“You Don’t Own Me” (Lesley Gore)

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Tagged as


It's not old ... it's classic

Current track

%d bloggers like this: