Edge of 70: AXS TV to air series of shows in celebration of Stevie Nicks' birthday this Saturday

Written by on May 23, 2018

Courtesy of AXS TVRock’s own musical sorceress, Stevie Nicks, turns 70 this Saturday, May 26, and in honor of that milestone, AXS TV will air a block of programming focusing on the iconic singer, both as a solo artist and with her band Fleetwood Mac.

The network’s Nicks-themed “Saturday Stack” begins at 1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT with a screening of the Classic Albums documentary about the making of Fleetwood Mac’s landmark 1977 disc Rumours.

Next up, at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT, will be the 1987 concert film, Stevie Nicks: Rock a Little. The special documents an August 1986 solo performance by Stevie at Red Rocks Amphitheatre in Morrison, Colorado, and features a guest appearance by Peter Frampton.

At 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT, AXS TV will air an episode of the U.K. documentary series Rock Legends profiling Fleetwood Mac.

Then, at 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT, an episode of the PBS series Soundstage, featuring Nicks performing a set mixing some of her solo tunes with Fleetwood Mac hits, will be screened.

Airing at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT will be the Fleetwood Mac concert flick Live in Boston, which features performances from the band’s September 2003 stand at Beantown’s FleetCenter, now called the TD Garden.

The block winds down with a 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT screening of Lindsey Buckingham with Special Guest Stevie Nicks, which originally aired as a 2005 episode of Soundstage.

The show features a solo Lindsey Buckingham performance, with Nicks joining her longtime band mate and ex-lover for renditions of two Fleetwood Mac tunes: “Never Going Back Again” and “Say Goodbye.”

The entire block then will air a second time on Saturday, starting at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT.

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Tagged as


CLASSIC ROCK 93.9

It's not old ... it's classic

Current track
TITLE
ARTIST

%d bloggers like this: