Graham Nash, Todd Rundgren among guests on new album by legendary Motown songwriter Lamont Dozier

Written by on May 16, 2018

Amy Grantham; Lynn GoldsmithGraham Nash and Todd Rundgren lend their vocal talents to a new album by legendary Motown songwriter Lamont Dozier called Reimagination, which will be released on May 25. The 12-track collection features new, sparsely arranged versions of classic songs that Dozier co-wrote with Brian and Eddie Holland for such artists as The Supremes, The Four Tops, Martha and the Vandellas and Marvin Gaye.

Nash sings on a medley of Supremes hits that includes “Where Did Our Love Go,” “Stop in the Name of Love,” “Come See About Me” and “Baby Love,” while Rundgren delivers a rendition of the 1964 Martha and the Vandellas gem “In My Lonely Room.”

Among the other special guests on Reimagination are U.K. pop legend Sir Cliff Richard, singer/songwriter Marc Cohn and country star Lee Ann Womack. The album was produced by veteran film and TV composer Fred Mollin.

“When Fred Mollin asked me if I was interested in singing harmony on Lamont’s album, I just couldn’t wait,” Nash says. “My former band, The Hollies, recorded ‘Stop in the Name of Love’ in the early ’80s and it was my absolute pleasure to be able to work with such an incredible writer.”

Regarding the project, Dozier declares, “Who knew that after all these years that these songs would be revisited again in this form? We’re just having a ball with it and, we think that the audience and the fans of this music will get a kick out of it as well.”

You can check out a behind-the-scenes video about the making of the album now on Cleopatra Records’ official YouTube channel.

Here the full track list of Reimagination:

Supremes Medley: “Where Did Our Love Go”/”Stop in the Name of Love”/”Come See About Me”/”Baby Love” — featuring Graham Nash
“How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved by You)” — featuring Gregory Porter
“Reach Out, I’ll Be There”
“Baby I Need Your Loving” — featuring Lee Ann Womack
“This Old Heart of Mine”/”My World Is Empty Without You” — featuring Sir Cliff Richard
“Heat Wave”/”Nowhere to Run” — featuring Jo Harman
“In My Lonely Room” — featuring Todd Rundgren
“Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)” — featuring Marc Cohn
“You Keep Me Hanging On” — featuring Rumer
“Reflections” — featuring Justin Currie
“I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)”

Bonus Track
“Reach Out, I’ll Be There” — duet with Jo Harman

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Tagged as


It's not old ... it's classic

Current track

%d bloggers like this: